God’s Word on Divorce

image

Mankind has plenty of reasons why divorce is acceptable.
“It’s just not working for me anymore. ”  “I’m tired of being unhappy.” “We’re not in love anymore.” “I met someone new who excites me!” “My spouse will never change.” “I just woke up one day and realized I no longer wanted to be married.” “Marriage is not for me!” “We don’t want the same things in life.” “Life is too short for me to not see if there’s something better for me out there.”
All of these reasons are flesh-driven. No one who ever justified getting a divorce for any such reasons are being led by God’s Holy Spirit. God’s Holy Spirit will never lead a person to make decisions that are contrary to His Word. I’m certain there are countless other reasons that husbands and wives profess as they stand before their divorce lawyers in court–where the laws of the land are elevated and the sacred covenant vows made with God are undermined, subjugated, and treated as contract terms.
Divorces are finalized and I just wonder, “Did anyone check to see what God says about divorce? Because He is the one who created it for His glory!”
What GOD Says In His Word About Divorce:
》 Malachi 2:16~
“I hate divorce,” says the LORD God of Israel, “and I hate a man’s covering himself with violence as well as with his garment,” says the LORD Almighty. So guard yourself in your spirit, and do not break faith.”
》 Matthew 5:31-32~
“It has been said, ‘Anyone who divorces his wife must give her a certificate of divorce.’  But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness, causes her to become an adulteress, and anyone who marries the divorced woman commits adultery.”
》 Mark 10:2-12~
“Some Pharisees came and tested him by asking, “Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife?”   “What did Moses command you?” he replied.  They said, “Moses permitted a man to write a certificate of divorce and send her away.”   “It was because your hearts were hard that Moses wrote you this law,” Jesus replied.  “But at the beginning of creation God ‘made them male and female.’  ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife,  and the two will become one flesh.’ So they are no longer two, but one.  Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.”  When they were in the house again, the disciples asked Jesus about this.  He answered, “Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery against her. And if she divorces her husband and marries another man, she commits adultery.”
》 Luke 16:18~
“Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery, and the man who marries a divorced woman commits adultery.”
》 Romans 7:2-3~
“For example, by law a married woman is bound to her husband as long as he is alive, but if her husband dies, she is released from the law of marriage.  So then, if she marries another man while her husband is still alive, she is called an adulteress. But if her husband dies, she is released from that law and is not an adulteress, even though she marries another man.”
》 Matthew 19:8-9~
“Jesus replied, “Moses permitted you to divorce your wives because your hearts were hard. But it was not this way from the beginning.  I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness, and marries another woman commits adultery.”
The legal system of things and the feel-good counselors all have many arguments to support divorce. All I know is that I will live and abide by what God says! He hates divorce and Jesus provides one reason for divorce, which is adultery. He said it; that settles it for me! In the event that adultery does occur in a marriage, the betrayed spouse has a choice: Either forgive and work it out and the other option is divorce. I will never tell anyone to divorce their spouse because God can change the hardest of hearts and I have experienced His miracles in my marriage after I forgave my husband’s adultery. There is a saying that “Once a cheater, always a cheater.” That is not the truth for everyone. People can change and when the Holy Spirit is the one who transforms a person’s hearts and desires, God is glorified! I wrote this article to share what God says about divorce not as condemnation. The Bible Scriptures are not my opinion so any arguments in support of divorce–take it up with Him 🙂 I didn’t create marriage, and I didn’t create those verses. I read them, share them, reflect on what they mean, and I say, “Amen!” Praise God for marriage ,and I pray that divorce is never an option between you and your spouse!
Here is biblical counsel from my Pastor Don Moore, citing from “1Corinthians 7-Marriage”, Heather’s Blog~God is Love
“There is individual sin if you divorce – this sin is the same if you divorce a believer or an unbeliever. If a wife or husband don’t divorce, that is not the end of the story.
If you have divorced and repented, don’t forget 1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
We are forgiven. With God nothing is unreconcilable. The way out is to repent. Don’t give God a list of complaints and excuses before we repent. Just repent.
Adultery is not the way out. If you are divorced remain single. Don’t rush into the next relationship for unless you work on your stuff, you may end up in a relationship similar to the one you just got away from.
God is the God of the do-over.
If an unbeliever departs, let them depart. Let them go.
1 Corinthians 7:16  “For how do you know, O wife, whether you will save your husband? Or how do you know, O husband, whether you will save your wife?”
Your presence in the marriage relationship could be the thing that brings your spouse to salvation.”
Amen!
God bless~
Cassandra. All rights reserved♡

Please let me know what you think about this :)

