Marriage Lessons From Vacation

A few weeks ago, my husband and I took our children on our first big, family vacation to Walt Disney World in Florida. During our week-long stay, we were also there with members of my husband’s family. We broke up the 17-hour road trip into 2 days by making two stops at hotels to rest. We were blessed to reach our destination safely and uneventfully. However, once our vacation began, it became clear to my husband and I that our vacation was more than what we had bargained for. With all of the walking that was required of us, dealing with Florida’s 100Β°F weather some days, 5 children who randomly had meltdowns and temper tantrums, and weathering how we balanced time alone as a family with time we spent with my inlaws was quite the adventure that was not included inΒ  our Disney package! I learned some very important things about my marriage during our vacation, which I’d like to share with you.

Three Important Lessons for Marriage

🌟1: Husbands and wives must walk in agreement!
Amos 3:3, NKJV “Can two walk together, unless they are agreed?”
A husband and wife should be walking hand in hand–in agreement– in their marriage so that their agendas, plans, and hearts are set to reach the same outcome or destination. In order for things to go smoothly, my husband amd I had to be in agreement.
One day, we decided to spend our time in the Magic Kingdom. I was so excited to see the castle and possibly meet the Disney princesses so that my two daughters and I could take photographs with them. My energy level didn’t quite match up to my excitement, and we were running behind schedule for our day. My husband decided he and our sons would try to make it to one of the FastPass rides we’d reserved the previous night. He was under the understanding that I would catch up to them, but I was hot, tired, and didn’t want to rush around on that day. Me and our teen daughter and 10-month old daughter strolled around at leisure and found The Big Top–a store set up like a huge circus tent–to cool off in and purchase concessions. After some time, I checked my phone and realized my husband had been frantically trying to reach me because I had one of our son’s admission card in my wallet. We hurried to meet him, and it was such a frustrating day at that point. I realized that the problem began when we were no longer in agreement when we went separate ways. The bottom line was that we should’ve stayed altogether and there would never have been a mix-up. The result was that our sons had a meltdown because they thought they wouldn’t be able to get on any rides. (We only rode rides we’d booked ahead at specific times to avoid the long lines in the heat*) The communication between my and I was momentarily thrown off because our walk in agreement with our plans was thrown off when we decided to do our own thing just to please the children. Our day was not redeemed until we came back together in agreement about how we would spend the rest of our day.

image

image

🌟2: Compassion goes a long way!
1 Peter 3:8, NKJV “Finally, all of you be of one mind, having compassion for one another; love as brothers, be tenderhearted, be courteous;”
Again, if a husband and his wife are in agreement, they will be “of one mind” and compassion is necessary. My husband and I were exhausted halfway through our vacation. All of the driving, walking, planning, and excitement took its toll on our hearts. We were short with each other at times and irritable. We set out to balance our agendas against our children’s wishes and also include our inlaws’ agendas, as well! Suffice it to say, everyone was not always pleased! We simply did not have the time to do everything that everyone wanted to do.
While time and energy waned, we simply needed more compassion for each other. Compassion is caring about how another person feels and making an attempt to accomodate their needs in a way that shows you care. It’s key for husbands and wives to demonstrate courtesy and kindness to each other. Compassion demonstrates that a husband and wife can treat each other with basic respect and dignity as we would treat any other brother or sister in Christ. Sometimes spouses treat outsiders better than they treat one another. This also models out to children the proper way to talk to and treat one another with compassion. Compassionate parents=compassionate children!

image

🌟3: Stand United, No Matter What
Matthew 19:6, Common English Bible
” So they are no longer two but one flesh. Therefore, humans must not pull apart what God has put together.” ” Our vacation illuminated to me how the enemy will use other people to try to come in between husbands and their wives. The enemy will use children, inlaws, even the spouses themselves to drive each other apart. Matthew 19:6 points out to that force to show that people will try to destroy God’s creation–His covenant of marriage! No matter what, never let the agendas of inlaws or children or confusion arising from or concerning either of these familial groups to pull you and your husband apart! That meant my teen daughter was left sulking in our resort hotel room because she did not agree with my husband’s frustration when we were lost in the Magic Kingdom. She thought I should stay with her and have a spa day at the resort. I realized the enemy was trying to cause division and left as planned to go to the Animal Kingdom with my husband and the rest of our children.
We refused to allow differences to ruin our vacation.
My husband and I had to acknowledge how the enemy was trying to drive us apart and create confusion between us.
We also had to make peace with the fact that although my husband’s family would have preferred if we had made plans to visit the same parks to share the Disney experience everyday, we had our own family memories to create. I know it would have made my father-in-law happier if we would have sync’d all of our plans with his, but my husband and I determined we were going to enjoy our vacation and have fun by doing things our way.
On our drive back home, we had to reassess and make sure we were on the same page because at the end of the day, we are husband and wife for life, and we will not allow anyone to come between us–neither children, inlaws, or other people!
This week, Walt Disney World resorts mailed us this autographed sketch as a gift, and it is confirmation that the most important thing was accomplished during our vacation! We enjoyed ourselves, created lots of fun memories, and most importantly, we are a team! Team Salamone for life!

image

image

Thank You Jesus!!! Glory to God!!!!
Be blessed!
Cassandra Salamone. All rights reserved.

Please let me know what you think about this :)

