Job 31 Men of God

image

It is widely believed that women of God should exemplify the characteristics demonstrated by the Proverbs 31 wife. I believe that Job 31 is a wonderful example for men of God as Job was a man of integrity who was faithful to God even during times of testing and suffering. Please enjoy this blog post for more on Job 31.
“Job 31 Men of God”
Many look to Proverbs 31 as the go-to Scriptural example of the character and lifestyle of a godly wife. There is also a Scriptural reference of righteous living that husbands can utilize as a reference or example for righteous living in the Bible book of Job 31:1-34. These verses touch on many if the aspects a husband might deal with or be responsible for as head of his wife and children and in making a living for himself.
In verses 1-12, Job declares the vow that he’s made to never look at a woman with lustful intentions. These verses remind a husband that living a life of integrity is important and to stray into an adulterous relationship means that by his adulterous and deceitful actions, he burns down–destroys–his own household!
The man who commits adultery can expect that all that all that he once held/holds dear to himself may not survive his decision to step off the “straight and narrow” righteous path. He might lose his wife’s precious trust and badly maim their love. In these verses, Job also admits that only disastrous consequences would result from such wickedness! Job professes that if he were to be so stupid and allow a woman to seduce him:
that he would deserve the worst of that calamity and out of self-loathing would declare that his wife should in turn, go and cheat on him.
Of course, we never want to take an eye for an eye or commit adultery in retaliation of a spouse’s adultery in this case!
“1-4 “I made a solemn pact with myself
    never to undress a girl with my eyes.
So what can I expect from God?
    What do I deserve from God Almighty above?
Isn’t calamity reserved for the wicked?
    Isn’t disaster supposed to strike those who do wrong?
Isn’t God looking, observing how I live?
    Doesn’t he mark every step I take?
5-8 “Have I walked hand in hand with falsehood,
    or hung out in the company of deceit?
Weigh me on a set of honest scales
    so God has proof of my integrity.
If I’ve strayed off the straight and narrow,
    wanted things I had no right to,
    messed around with sin,
Go ahead, then—
    give my portion to someone who deserves it.
9-12 “If I’ve let myself be seduced by a woman
    and conspired to go to bed with her,
Fine, my wife has every right to go ahead
    and sleep with anyone she wants to.
For disgusting behavior like that,
    I’d deserve the worst punishment you could hand out.
Adultery is a fire that burns the house down;
    I wouldn’t expect anything I count dear to survive it.”

In verses 13-34, a man can be reminded to make good use of his power of wealth and influence. This is a godly reference for a man because he needs to honor God in his dealings with other people and be a man of integrity. If he has employees he manages or supervises, he should use his authority fairly and not abuse it. In accounting for his books– his income and taxes–a man must remember that even if the government and authorities don’t monitor his business dealings, God sees everything!
Here, in the following verses is a warning to be generous to the poor and to bless those families who are destitute and in need of provisions such as food, shelter, and warm clothes. Wisdom is in these verses that reveals the man who is money-hungry, who showboats or flaunts his wealth to others, who worships money and a lavish lifestyle, and who uses his power and influence to gain an unfair advantage is not a God-fearing man. A righteous man will not rejoice even over his competitors’ and enemies’ misfortune.

13-15 “Have I ever been unfair to my employees
    when they brought a complaint to me?
What, then, will I do when God confronts me?
    When God examines my books, what can I say?
Didn’t the same God who made me, make them?
    Aren’t we all made of the same stuff, equals before God?
16-18 “Have I ignored the needs of the poor,
    turned my back on the indigent,
Taken care of my own needs and fed my own face
    while they languished?
Wasn’t my home always open to them?
    Weren’t they always welcome at my table?
19-20 “Have I ever left a poor family shivering in the cold
    when they had no warm clothes?
Didn’t the poor bless me when they saw me coming,
    knowing I’d brought coats from my closet?
21-23 “If I’ve ever used my strength and influence
    to take advantage of the unfortunate,
Go ahead, break both my arms,
    cut off all my fingers!
The fear of God has kept me from these things—
    how else could I ever face him?
24-28 “Did I set my heart on making big money
    or worship at the bank?
Did I boast about my wealth,
    show off because I was well-off?
Was I ever so awed by the sun’s brilliance
    and moved by the moon’s beauty
That I let myself become seduced by them
    and worshiped them on the sly?
If so, I would deserve the worst of punishments,
    for I would be betraying God himself.
29-30 “Did I ever crow over my enemy’s ruin?
    Or gloat over my rival’s bad luck?
No, I never said a word of detraction,
    never cursed them, even under my breath.”

Verses 31-34 is a reminder of how important it is for a godly husband to have godly friends and mentors in his life who hold him accountable for his walk with the Lord. It’s a big deal because if he falls into sin, he needs other godly men to whom he can confess and disclose his sins to and have their prayers and support to help him restore his righteous walk.
A man who keeps himself as an island without that fellowship with the body of Christ may be tempted to hide his sins and continue in them. There is no condemnation in Christ.
A godly man is not afraid of being accountable for his life because he understands that it is because of Jesus that he never has to hide the way Adam did.
Because of Jesus, every husband is empowered to live a righteous life! Praise God for Job’s example and for the best example of all in His Son Jesus!!! ♡

Job 31:31-34~
“Didn’t those who worked for me say,
    ‘He fed us well. There were always second helpings’?
And no stranger ever had to spend a night in the street;
    my doors were always open to travelers.
Did I hide my sin the way Adam did,
    or conceal my guilt behind closed doors
Because I was afraid what people would say,
    fearing the gossip of the neighbors so much
That I turned myself into a recluse?”
Jesus is our perfect example; we should all aspire to be like Him. Amen and God bless!
©Cassandra Salamone. All rights reserved. No reproduction beyond the Share button.

Please let me know what you think about this :)

