Things I Learned While Waiting

image

Important Things I Learned While Waiting For My Marriage to Be Restored:
♢ I made a shift from focusing on the changes I thought my husband needed to make in his life and began to concentrate on what God wanted to change in my heart. Instead of asking: “Why do I have to be in a broken marriage, God?”, I began to seek Him by asking: ” Jesus, will you give me peace and wholeness in the midst of my broken marriage?” And God is faithful. I began to have a longing for God Word, and the more I read it and watered my spirit, my worries seemed to evaporate. God’s Word was like a seed in my mind and heart that seemed to sprout roots that flourished and took up the spaces in my thoughts that hid worries. God’s Word binded up my broken heart with hope that restored my faith and understanding that God loves me no matter what. The shift from focusing on problems to God’s promises restored peace to my soul while I waited on Him to restore my marriage.
Psalm 147:3, Aramaic Bible in Plain English~
He heals the broken hearts and binds up their sorrows.”

♢ I learned to look only to the Lord for
provision regarding my emotional fulfillment and for validation of my identity and purpose. God used that time to strip me from holding my husband as an idol in my heart. God showed me I cannot and should not ever base my self-worth and purpose in life on the ability of my husband to love me, affirm me, and perform his role as my husband like God instructs him to. During my time of waiting, God’s love for me became real to me and instead of being in a pit of self-pity, depression, or despair, God reignited my desire to utilize and invest in interests and gifts He blessed me to possess. God’s love gave me joy and a radiant attitude of happiness and hopeful assurance that He would make the “after” condition of my marriage so much better and stronger than it was before it crumbled. His love and His peace in my heart was like a shield and I clung to it to defend the hope I had that He would restore my marriage.
Hebrews 11:1~
Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen
Romans 5:5~
and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”
Hebrews 6:11~
And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence so as to realize the full assurance of hope until the end,”

♢ I learned that everyone around me had an idea of how my marriage would play out. Everyone has advice and past experiences they use in determining judgments and opinions about your marriage. I learned to close my ears to them and only opened my mouth to ask godly counsel from the few who offered to pray with and for me without me asking them to. I learned God works best when we keep silent and refrain from complaining. If we need help because of abuse, that is altogether different. Otherwise, the grumbling seems to make the sweet smell of our prayers sour. It seems to demonstrate hopelessness or a sense of being resigned that nothing will change. God wants us to believe Him to do the impossible in our marriages. He wanted me to stop grumbling about my husband’s faults and instead trust Him to not only correct his sinful behavior but to transform his heart. So I encourage you– if you are waiting for your marriage to be restored to pray and hope for God’s bigger picture–His glory to be done. Pray for God to get the glory in every area of your and your spouse’s life so that when your marriage is restored, it will glorify Him and accomplish His eternal purpose.
2 Corinthians 4:16-18 ~
Therefore we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.”
Keep believing and remain hopeful!!! May God bless you💓
Copyrighted. Cassandra’s Marriage Mints

2 thoughts on “Things I Learned While Waiting

  1. Newlyweds 4 God says:

    Praise the Lord! This truly blessed me this morning. You are in the gain of the Lord Sis. Keep writing and sharing as God Leads. There are so many in the world who need to be encouraged in doing things GOD’S way. Your gift will make room for you! Love you always 😄💞💏 Marriage done God’s way💏💞😄

    Like

Please let me know what you think about this :)

