Solitary Places (w/Prayer*)

image

“Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.” “Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” 32 So they went away by themselves in a boat to a solitary place.”
~ Mark 1: 35, 6: 31-32, KJV ~
Do you ever feel like you need to pull away from everyone and seek solitude? The longing for time alone with God is a natural feeling that Jesus experienced in His time as a perfect Man. If He needed time alone to pray to Father God; then, so do we!
If you’re a wife like me, I cherish spending quality time with my husband. At times, I will realize that the time we spend with each other is not enough to satisfy my need for a deep, intimate connection.
God has matured me to understand that when I feel that way or like I need to escape from my responsibilities, I need to go off by myself and have quiet time with Him in prayer. If I cannot “get away”, God wakes me up earlier than my household so I can take that time to meet with Him in His Word.It is important to seek out solitude with Jesus because He is the only one who can fill those empty, unfulfilled places within our hearts.
Married couples who have children can probably relate to Mark 6: 31-32. As parents of a teenage daughter, twin boys, a toddling son, and a baby girl who is expected to arrive by the end of August, my husband and I, often lack opportunities for solitude. When we go months without taking the time to be alone together to pray or go on dates, we truly feel the difference. We feel the strain of not having that quiet time alone.
When we honor our need for solitary time together, we come back to our family refreshed and ready to be available for their needs. It is essential for a husband and wife to follow Jesus’ example. Sometimes you have to escape the pressing needs of everyone and make it a priority to spend time alone together. Whether you go off by yourselves in a real boat or you find a sitter so you can take a drive alone together for a couple of hours, seek solitary places for you and your spouse where you can pray together, rest in each other’s presence, and be recharged.
It’s wonderful to want to be needed by your spouse and children, but also realize that even moreso you need to seek solitary places because you need Jesus. Prayer
Dear Father, Thank You for sending Your precious Son Jesus to save us and teach us how to live. He had the answer for every pressing question and infirmity. Yet, He knew to seek You and withdraw from their needs in order to pray. Help us to recognize this need to be in Your presence so that we do not lose sight of You or each other in the busy rhythm of daily life. If we will learn to seek solitary places where we can soak in Your presence, our marriages, our daily lives will be all the more blessed for it! Thank You for refreshing us in solitary places when we seek them alone or as a couple. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Please let me know what you think about this :)

