Proverbs 31 Prayer

image

The prayer from my heart today has taken all of Thursday for me to get together. Since the morning when my heart knew what the prayer would be about, I was filled with anticipation and excitement to study Proverbs 31 and meditate on that chapter. As soon as I wrapped my mind around who I envision the Proverbs 31 wife to be, the activities of my day seemed to grab me by the hand and throw me headlong into living those verses out. God turned the tables on me and it’s almost like He said, “No time for studying. Time for you to be living this out in your life as a wife and mother.” Now as I sit, I realize that because I made prayer and studying God’s Word a priority, God redeemed time to me that I anxiously believed I was lacking as I went about my day. He made it so that the time was actually spent living out many of the verses in Proverbs 31.
As I sat wondering why my husband chose to talk about his walk with God and how God’s Holy Spirit confirms a word to him Thursday night at 10:30…yes, I was fretting in my mind about how I was going to have the quiet moment to write out the Proverbs 31 Prayer when my frantic spirit seemed to be stilled.
It was as of I could hear in my heart: “What are you so worried about? All day long you have been living out Proverbs 31, and right now you’re irritated because your husband trusts you with his heart enough to share with you his feelings about his relationship with Me.” I was like WOW! Thank You LORD!!! The Holy Spirit convicted and ministered a verse to me that I might possibly be blessed to enjoy if I stopped being self-absorbed:
“Her husband has full confidence in her” (Prov.31:11). Yes, LORD!!!
I straightened up. Stopped wishing for my husband to stop talking and I listened to him. I heard the Lord loud and clear: When we want to do His will, He will make it possible. He holds us to a standard measured by His grace and not by perfection, which is based in our vain strivings. Being women of God who want to accomplish His will will never be in vain, for we are already set up for abundant riches and rewards in eternity in Christ Jesus. AMEN! Hallelujah! Let’s pray.
Father, I want to take this time to lift myself and Your community of wives to You in prayer. I thank You for giving us an example of perfection in Christ Jesus. We thank You also for the excellent example You gave us in Proverbs 31. Thank You for illustrating virtues that we can aspire to cultivate and demonstrate in our lives as women seeking to live out Your will, as godly wives and mothers.
I pray that we will grow to be more like Christ and not expect our lives to look like each virtued verse in Proverbs 31. For to be like Christ should be our ultimate goal, lest we make an idol out of the Proverbs 31 illustration. Thank You Lord that Proverbs 31 is merely a template and that it’s okay if our lives don’t match up perfectly verse by verse. Lord, Let each of us wear our unique strengths and weaknesses as strands of pearls. Let each of us praise You and be content with what You’ve blessed us with. Let us be content and enthusiastically seek to be the best we can be at being a wife, mother, homemaker, stay at home mom, worker outside the home, entrepreneur, ministry. Lord, bless us with the joy and skill at: cooking, cleaning, studying Your Word with our family, sewing, helping the needy, producing income. Lord, soften our hearts and remove jealousy and competition from our hearts. Give us a desire to mentor and teach younger, less experienced wives what we have learned and give us a longing to help each other strengthen our weak areas.****
Father, take away the tendencies that lead us to feel guilty or ashamed when we have bad days or even seasons when it’s difficult to muster up the energy to wake up with a smile, let alone, walk out these verses in our lives. Thank You for Your grace and for the treasure You bless each of Your daughters with–a necklace of wisdom***. Lord, Let each of us see Proverbs 31 as healthy motivation and becoming more like Jesus as the ultimate goal for as long as we do our best as unto You, we’re Proverbs 31 women in Christ. I claim it and believe it!  In Jesus’ name, Amen. 

image

***Proverbs 3:3-4~”Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart.Then you will win favor and a good name in the sight of God and man.”
****Titus 2:3-5 “..teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.”

image

Proverbs 31:10-31~
“A wife of noble character who can find?
    She is worth far more than rubies.
11 Her husband has full confidence in her
    and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
    all the days of her life.
13 She selects wool and flax
    and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
    bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night;
    she provides food for her family
    and portions for her female servants.
16 She considers a field and buys it;
    out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
    and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
    and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor
    and extends her hands to the needy.
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
    for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
    she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
    where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
    and supplies the merchants with sashes.
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
    she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
    and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
    her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
    but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
    and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.”
©Cassandra Salamone. All rights reserved.

Please let me know what you think about this :)

