The Rib’s Prayer

image

Thank You Lord that I am my husband’s “helper suitable “. Thank You Lord that my husband loves me as he loves himself. As his rib*, he honors me by his side and does not trample me under his feet. Lord, Open his eyes to see that every trial in his life is a mountain opportunity for him to meet with You for instruction, just as Moses did. Give him a desire to seek You so that each time he comes back down the mountain, he is wiser and filled with more vigor and determination to lead his household to our promised land. May he come down each mountain with his eyes trained to see any potential idols or distractions in his life that may be hindering him from fully trusting and believing in You. Lord, keep my heart soft and open so I am his oasis away from the wilderness of everyday life in the world. Give me a creative, responsive, and courageous love for my husband and heal me of any past or present issues that may get in the way of it. Give my husband patience and understanding, as we are students of each other, that I am a “weaker vessel” (1Peter 3:7). Give him the understanding in how to love as You have commanded him to do that is a picture of Your love for me. May he joyfully tend to my needs with thoughtfulness and care because he cherishes me.
Lord, endow me with the ability to make it a natural habit to show my husband the respect You have commanded me to give him (Eph.5). Show me how to make it an unconditional gift that I can bless him with in our world that knocks him down. Help me to conduct myself in ways that do not blaspheme Your Word, which says I am his “good thing” (Proverbs 18:22). Help us show grace to each other when we mess up, and just keep us, Lord, in the palms of Your hands hidden from wickedness. Thank You for Your beautiful plan for marriage. May we learn to bring You more glory each day so that my husband’s love for me resembles Christ’s love for His church (Eph. 5). In Jesus’ name, Amen.
*Genesis 2:21-24 “ So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs[a] and then closed up the place with flesh. 22 Then the LordGod made a woman from the rib[b]he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.
23 The man said,
“This is now bone of my bones
    and flesh of my flesh;
she shall be called ‘woman,’
    for she was taken out of man.”
24 That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.
Footnotes:
Genesis 2:21 Or took part of the man’s side
Genesis 2:22 Or part

©Cassandra Salamone. All rights reserved.
Please take a moment and click Like or leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

Please let me know what you think about this :)

