My Missing Glass Slipper

image

When I married my husband, I was looking to him to fulfill the empty places inside of my heart. I was like Cinderella missing my “glass slipper”–the missing piece to my attire of joy and wholeness. I believed that something in my marriage would recover what I had lost along my life’s journey. My glass slipper was my joy, the unguarded and carefree imagination to dream aloud, my zest for life that I’d left behind to escape time, fear, and painful situations the enemy planned to ensnare me and derail God’s purpose for my life. I saw all of those things that I’d left behind and lost in who my husband is.  When we first met, he captivated me with his charismatic vision and sparkling personality. No matter the trials that transpired in our marriage, I never was drawn away from his inner flame. But he did not have my glass slipper. No matter how much we looked for it together, it just could not be found.
My husband has a huge, gentle heart,and I know it devastated him when I began to blame him for my unhappiness. He wanted to be my all and tried his best to fill the shoes that could only be filled by the Lord Jesus. It wasn’t until I acknowledged that I was looking in the wrong places for my glass slipper and began seeking God’s help that He began to show me that although I once was lost, in Him I was found. Only Jesus could replace what had been lost. It was so much more than my slipper; I was lost! Jesus found me! When I realized that He is my everything, then my marriage, which had fallen apart, was restored as well.
I felt led to write this article tonight because many women make the mistake of seeking to be fulfilled by their man. No one but Jesus can ever fulfill you, restore you, and recover all that you’ve lost. Don’t put that burden on your husband♥ Your husband can’t do that, but Jesus can!
Psalms 16:11 ” You make the path of life known to me. Complete joy is in your presence. Pleasures are by your side forever.
May every husband and wife walk the path of life and experience complete joy with pleasures by each other’s sides forever in Christ. Amen~
Cassandra Salamone. All rights reserved.

One thought on “My Missing Glass Slipper

Please let me know what you think about this :)

