Titus 2 Cleaning Tip for Busy Moms on a Budget

Hi ladies! If you’re a busy mother on a budget, I have a tried and true tip to share with you on how to clean those stubborn stains out of your microsuede furniture! As a stay-at-home mommy of four with one on the way, my husband and I really cannot afford to replace our living room furniture right now. Usually, I keep our one couch that was an eyesore covered with a slipcover because it is a used couch that we acquired from an auction dealer that was giving it away. We thought, “Awesome deal! Free!” Lol; but it’s cream colored and I realize it’s the white elephant in the room. My twin boys are seven and I have a toddling 2.5 year old son who love to sneak snacks and drinks while they are sitting on this couch. I really had it up to my eyeballs with looking at the stains, which would be embarrassing if we entertained company. More importantly,  I simply wanted a solution! I wanted a solution that would not only clean my couch but also be extremely affordable! I’m happy to share that solution with those of you who may be feeling fed up with looking at stained microsuede furniture in your home 🙂
I bought all of my supplies from the Dollar Store–one where everything is actually $1–and my purchase totalled less than $6!
Here’s all you need to get rid of those stubborn stains:

★Rubbing Alcohol
★A couple packs of Sponges (White or Yellow in color)
★1 Dish-scrubber brush (with stiff bristles)
★A pair of cleaning gloves
★A mask (extra protection from alcohol fumes)

Clean those stains in a few simple steps after applying gloves and mask:
1. Apply alcohol to the dry sponge and saturate the stained areas of the microsuede. Use the sponge to rub the food stains/beverage marks. Be sure you open a window or two for ventilation.
2. Once the areas dry, use the scrubber brush to return the uniformity of the suede nap (grain of the fibers) along the cushions.
It’s important to change up sponges once they become heavily soiled or you’ll end up rubbing dirt back into the fiber. You can repeat steps 1 and 2 as neede for extremely soiled areas. Don’t worry! The alcohol odor does not remain in the furniture.
I am extremely pleased with this cleaning tip I learned. It didn’t remove all the watermarks from my couch, but the places that were blackened with soil are a lot lighter. The food and juice stains are gone, and the couch looks and feels cleaner and fresher than it was when we acquired it! This definitely improved the appearance of my couch, and I’m no longer ashamed of it when it is uncovered. I hope this tip helps you out and saves you the exorbitant fees you could wind up paying a professional upholstery cleaning service. So before you go out and buy that new sofa, try it for yourself and share before and after pics with me on my Facebook ministry page! Take a look at mine before you go 🙂

image

image

image

God bless you!
Titus 2:3-5~” Bid the older women similarly to be reverent and devout in their deportment as becomes those engaged in sacred service, not slanderers or slaves to drink. They are to give good counsel and be teachers of what is right and noble,

4 So that they will wisely train the young women to be [a]sane and sober of mind (temperate, disciplined) and to love their husbands and their children,

5 To be self-controlled, chaste, homemakers, good-natured (kindhearted), adapting and subordinating themselves to their husbands, that the word of God may not be exposed to reproach (blasphemed or discredited)”
Cassandra Salamone ♥

Please let me know what you think about this :)

