I Refused to Be Devoured

424995_441619305877838_1422211159_n
“ROAR” is a poem I wrote a little over a year ago when I was experiencing a wilderness season in my marriage. I came across this picture on the internet and God used it to encourage me.
My husband had brought me to the Lord; yet, it seemed that as I grew closer to the Lord, the problems in our marriage drove us farther apart. God lured me into the “wilderness” so that He could help me deal with some deep-seated issues I had buried within myself. I felt alone and it seemed as if my marriage was under attack from all angles. The enemy was breathing down my neck and doing all that he could to make me give up on my husband and my faith in God. But what the enemy did not know was that his attacks only made me lean more into my Father, and I fought back by speaking God’s Word over myself and my marriage! God strengthened me and grew my faith during that desert season. It was a hard time, but God sustained me and protected me.
The Lord opened my understanding to His Word and with that came the realization that I am not a victim! I am a victor–more than a conqueror–in Christ Jesus!
Just when the enemy thought I would be swallowed whole by fears, doubts, and depression, his yoke–his “hold”–over me was broken–held to the standard of God’s Word that he cannot defeat! Strongholds were broken, and God showed me that He’d allowed me to be tested so that I would seek to know Him and learn who I am in Christ! He loosed me into the wilderness so I would know I am free and that He is always with me.
No matter what we may be going through in life– the times of testing and trials–we are not victims. Because of Jesus, we can experience victory in every circumstance.
“Roar”
The enemy’s jaws
Striped with lies and deceit
poised to swallow my life whole.
I buried the Word–
Living water– within my heart.
Jesus trumped death
the enemy is a defeated foe.

The enemy wanted a taste of me
so I opened my belly and became as a geyser–
Flooding his camp with God’s torrential flow.
THE POWER OF THE BLOOD OF CHRIST JESUS
erupted
in the bowels of Sheol.

The enemy’s mouth seized all around me.
The grace of God erupted violently
as a volcano
Spewing His living water.
The enemy chokes and vomits spasmodically
as he realizes that he has no power over me.
he cannot hold me
he cannot devour me
For the truth is that the Lion of Judah already paid the price.
I am no prisoner of sin
for Jesus
Son of God
Sacrificed His life
and set me free.
Though tattered and weary,
In my God
I can trust!

The enemy’s plans for me
are as slack and powerless as his jaws.
BY THE BLOOD OF JESUS CHRIST
his schemes are rendered feeble.
Now that i know the truth
i will never forget.

I carry His roar in my heart
And in my mouth
the deafening echo.
I burst through
the enemy’s plans
HEALED!!!!!!!!!
FREE!!!!!!!!!!!
DELIVERED!!!!!!
To soar on high as an anointed eagle!
~Cassandra Salamone

Isaiah 40:31 Amp.~ “But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired.”

Isaiah 53:6-7 Amp.~ “All we like sheep have gone astray, we have turned every one to his own way; and the Lord has made to light upon Him the guilt and iniquity of us all.
7 He was oppressed, [yet when] He was afflicted, He was submissive and opened not His mouth; like a lamb that is led to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so He opened not His mouth.”

Amos 3:8 Amp.~ ” The lion has roared; who will not fear? The Lord God has spoken; who can but prophesy?”

John 4:13-14 Amp.~ “Jesus answered her, All who drink of this water will be thirsty again.
14 But whoever takes a drink of the water that I will give him shall never, no never, be thirsty any more. But the water that I will give him shall become a spring of water welling up (flowing, bubbling) [continually] within him unto (into, for) eternal life.”

John 7:38 Amp.~ ” He who believes in Me [who cleaves to and trusts in and relies on Me] as the Scripture has said, From his innermost being shall flow [continuously] springs and rivers of living water.”

John 10:25-30 Amp.~ “Jesus answered them, I have told you so, yet you do not believe Me [you do not trust Me and rely on Me]. The very works that I do by the power of My Father and in My Father’s name bear witness concerning Me [they are My credentials and evidence in support of Me].
26 But you do not believe and trust and rely on Me because you do not belong to My fold [you are no sheep of Mine].
27 The sheep that are My own hear and are listening to My voice; and I know them, and they follow Me.
28 And I give them eternal life, and they shall never lose it or perish throughout the ages. [To all eternity they shall never by any means be destroyed.] And no one is able to snatch them out of My hand.
29 My Father, Who has given them to Me, is greater and mightier than all [else]; and no one is able to snatch [them] out of the Father’s hand.
30 I and the Father are One.”

Revelation 1:15 Amp.~ ” His feet glowed like burnished (bright) bronze as it is refined in a furnace, and His voice was like the sound of many waters.

2 thoughts on “I Refused to Be Devoured

Please let me know what you think about this :)

