“7-Layered Triple-Refined”

image

I was inspired to write this romantic poem about my husband and I after perusing my thrift-store find of the Charleston Cake Lady’s recipebook. I found the perfect cake to bake for him this afternoon; I chose “The Hummingbird Cake” ❤

As soon as we saw
what it could be
Between us,
we wanted each other.
Our hearts beat with hungry anticipation.
Triple bypass
Double portions of
Doubt and modesty.
We thought,
"It will turn out the way it looks
on the box, only it won't be storebought.”
We hurried home and
Created
Our own recipe.
We fell hard despite us knowing
that neither of us had much
Patience
to wait……..
His words–
Delicacies
that slowly melted
my vulnerabilities.
Devoured by my dainty ears.
Graceful,
Nurturing
Hands
Stirred me.
Peaked my frothy soul.
(The conversion formula was quite complex.
We wouldn't be able to repeat it.)
Every movement of his hands
and the sparkle of his dark eyes
Folded my heartbeats into
Unmeasured breaths.
Ingenious
Enthusiastic
Infusion.
We poured everything
into one another.
Steam.
Sweet.
I can taste heaven in his
Intentions.
In the way he takes the time
to check the temperature of my
sensibilities,
First,
Before
I do.
We will never diet again.
Never scrimp on ingredients again.
There are no acceptable substitutions.
This calls for the real thing.
It has to bake forever.
Forever
with him
will not be long enough as we
Savor this seven-layered
Triple-refined
Love.

image

My hubby’s Hummingbird cake ❤
Delicious and made from scratch!

Please let me know what you think about this :)

