“Staying on the Path”

20120927-174453.jpg

Marriage is a journey. The path a couple decides to take determines if they will possess the stamina and fortitude to endure to the finish line of their lives. There are two paths– “our way” or “God’s Way”. The path that is illuminated and already laid out before us belongs to the Lord. When we decide to live out our marriage according to His design, we can avoid the snares and pitfalls that Satan the devil has laid all around us. The enemy knows all about the weaknesses of our flesh, so he strategically places his snares to harm us. To catch us and devour us when we try to do things our own way–contrary to God’s Word. When we choose God’s Way, we have a guaranteed guide (The wisdom and instruction in the Bible) and a source of light and understanding, His Holy Spirit. We must beware of the snares and resolve to not stray from the Lord’s guidance.

*Psalm 119:105-112 Amplified~ “105 Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.106 I have sworn [an oath] and have confirmed it, that I will keep Your righteous ordinances [hearing, receiving, loving, and obeying them].107 I am sorely afflicted; renew and quicken me [give me life], O Lord, according to Your word!108 Accept, I beseech You, the freewill offerings of my mouth, O Lord, and teach me Your ordinances.109 My life is continually in my hand, yet I do not forget Your law.110 The wicked have laid a snare for me, yet I do not stray from Your precepts.111 Your testimonies have I taken as a heritage forever, for they are the rejoicing of my heart.112 I have inclined my heart to perform Your statutes forever, even to the end.”

When we choose our own path, we step out of the safety and provision of the Lord into darkness and dangerous temptations. We become blinded by our ways and the ever-watchful enemy regards us as easy prey. However, God is good!!! If we look to God, He is faithful to remove the blindfolds of our pride and selfishness–our deceptive flesh–so we can navigate our marriage back to the path that God paved for our safe journey. Look to Him and He will guide you from start to finish. Keep on the righteous path–God’s Way,and stay clear of the path of self-righteousness–your way.

Isaiah 55:9 Amplified~ “9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Psalm 119:130-133 Amplified~ “130 The entrance and unfolding of Your words give light; their unfolding gives understanding (discernment and comprehension) to the simple.131 I opened my mouth and panted [with eager desire], for I longed for Your commandments.132 Look upon me, be merciful unto me, and show me favor, as is Your way to those who love Your name.133 Establish my steps and direct them by [means of] Your word; let not any iniquity have dominion over me.”

Trust and believe that the Creator of mankind and marriage best knows what we need to do and how to order our steps so that He is glorified in our lives.

~Cassandra Salamone

2 thoughts on ““Staying on the Path”

Please let me know what you think about this :)

